[ ⚔ ] Player Turns - mjnrock/fuzzyknights-boardgame GitHub Wiki

Table of Contents

Player Turns

Back to Top

After ☀️ Daybreak, each Player takes his or her turn in a counter clockwise sequence, starting with the Anchor, as determined in the Board Setup.

End of Game Conditions

Back to Top

Players will go through multiple Days in the game, performing actions and attempting to eliminate all other 🧙‍ Heroes and to conquer all foreign 🏰 Settlements.

Victory

Back to Top

A Player is declared the winner if all other Players have been eliminated from the 🗺️ Map by conquering and occupying all foreign 🏰 Settlements.

Elimination

Back to Top

As play goes on, Players can find themselves without a 🏰 Settlement due to conquest. In this case, the Player's 🧙‍ Hero(es) must acquire a 🏰 Settlement before the end of the next turn's Exploration Phase or that Player is permanently eliminated from play.

Hero [ 🧙‍ - 🎲 2d6 +6 ]

Back to Top

A Player is limited to 2 🧙‍ Heroes at any time

In Battle, the 🧙‍ Hero is a unit itself with a roll of 🎲 2d6 +6. If the 🧙‍ Hero falls in Battle (this is called FAINTING), its Army can still fight and if successful, the 🧙‍ Hero will not die.

🧙‍ Hero Cost Base Roll Prerequisite
Hero 5 💰, 💰(-1) /Daybreak 🎲 2d6 +6 🏰 Settlement

Hero Movement [ 🐎 ]

Back to Top

Each 🧙‍ Hero is able to MOVE up to 15 Tiles.

A 🧙‍ Hero may move on any unoccupied Tile for 🐎(-1).

If a Tile has multiple Tokens on it, then the Player must interact with each Token at an additional expense of 🐎(-1) according to Token Priority (cf. "Multiply-Occupied Tiles").

If the Player or Ally owns a 🏰 Settlement or ⚒️ Mine, then all Alliance Heroes can treat that Tile as if it were unoccupied.


  • 💡 REMINDER 🧟 Monster, ⚒️️ Mines, and 🏰 Settlements "occupy" an entire Tile and as such, only cost 🐎(-1) total (i.e. Max 🐎(-1) per Tile)
  • 💡 REMINDER 🎁 Items and 💰 Resources cost an additional 🐎(-1) per Token on that Tile (i.e. Max 🐎(-1) + 🐎(-1 * Token Count) per Tile)

Hero Death

Back to Top

In any and all cases where a 🧙‍ Hero dies, all 🎁 Items on that 🧙‍ Hero are dropped at the Tile on which the 🧙‍ Hero died.

[ Special Case ] If the 🧙‍ Hero dies at a 🏰 Settlement, the 🎁 Items are instead placed within the Armory of that 🏰 Settlement and normal Armory rules apply.

If a 🧙‍ Hero dies to a 🧟 Monster Token specifically, then an additional 🧟 Monster Token is placed on that same Tile (the original Token(s), plus 1 from the fallen 🧙‍ Hero).

If the 🧙‍ Hero was fighting anything except a 🧟 Monster Token and had any 🤺 Mercenaries still alive within its command at the time of death, then 1 🧟 Monster Token is placed on the Tile, as well.

TIP: Strategically retreating from a fight with a "Pawn Hero" can force your enemy to deal with a 🧟 Monster Token on his or her 🏰 Settlement. Be careful, though, as a Player is rewarded for killing 🧟 Monsters and also has a 🎲 1dP roll chance to acquire those 🧟 Monsters.


  • 💡 REMINDER A 🧙‍ Hero death at a 🏰 Settlement causes the 🎁 Items not to be rerolled, as the cards instead transfer from the 🧙‍ Hero directly to the Armory of the 🏰 Settlement.
  • 💡 REMINDER In the case of a 🧙‍ Hero death on the same Tile as a 🏰 Settlement, those 🧟 Monster Tokens are placed on the same Tile as a 🏰 Settlement. Functionally, this means that the 🧟 Monster Token must be defeated before access to/from the 🏰 Settlement is possible (for any 🧙‍ Hero--Allied or Enemy). This 🧟 Monster Token is treated like any other 🧟 Monster Token and all normal 🧟 Monster Token rules apply.

Mines [ ⚒️ ]

Back to Top

Upon landing on a tile with a ⚒️ Mine Token, the Player can attempt to capture the ⚒️ Mine. Upon a successful capture, immediately collect 💰(+1). Any time a Player attempts to change possession of a ⚒️ Mine, roll a 🎲 1dP to determine if the ⚒️ Mine is guarded by 🧟 Guardians.

If the 🎲 1dP roll results in 🧟 Guardians, the Player must roll (based on the table below) to determine how many 🧟 Guardians will attempt to defend the ⚒️ Mine. If the Player then defeats the 🧟 Guardians, s/he captures the ⚒️ Mine.

If the ⚒️ Mine was owned by a Player, then no bonus 💰 Resource is collected for Guardian kills, only a capture and 💰(+1) for the capture.

Check for Guardians

Roll 🎲[10 - 70] 🎲[80 - 100]
🎲 1dP CAPTURE FIGHT 🧟 Monsters

Determine Guardian Quantity

Highest Overall Roll
Encampment 🎲 1d6
Villa 🎲 1d6 +2
Estate 🎲 2d6 +3
Castle 🎲 3d6 +4

A ⚒️ Mine's 🧟 Monster quantity is determined by whatever Player has the highest 🏰 Settlement rank

Example

ASSUME: That the highest 🏰 Settlement construction is a Villa out of all Players 🏰 Settlements.

Roll Result Implication
🎲 1dP 🎲[90] => 🎲 1d6 +2 Guardians
Highest Overall Roll
Villa 🎲 1d6 +2
Roll Result Implication
🎲 1d6 +2 🎲[3] +2 => 5 Guardians

Player will FIGHT 5 Guardians

Resources [ 💰 ]

Back to Top

Upon landing on a Tile with a 💰 Resource Token, roll a 🎲 1dP to determine the cache size. The cache size will determine how much 💰 Resource the Player finds.

Determine Cache Size

Roll 🎲[10 - 70] 🎲[80 - 100]
🎲 1dP Small Large

Determine Cache Reward

Cache Size Reward Size Roll
Small 🎲 1d6
Large 🎲 2d6

Example

Roll Result Implication
🎲 1dP 🎲[80] => Large Cache
Roll Result Implication
🎲 2d6 🎲[9] => 💰(+9)

Player receives 💰(+9)

Items [ 🎁 ]

Back to Top

All Players must agree on a ruleset below, though the Players are allowed to change the ruleset at any point, if it passes a Vote.

Ruleset 1) Card & Dice Rules (Default Ruleset)

Back to Top

Upon landing on a Tile with an 🎁 Item Token, draw a card from the Item Deck. Roll the dice stated on the card to determine the Rarity of the 🎁 Item. Place a marker on the Rarity placeholder on the card's edge.

Ruleset 2) Dice-Only Rules (Alternative Ruleset)

Back to Top

In lieu of cards, you may instead roll a 🎲 1dP to determine the Item Type according to table below. After determining Item Type, roll a 🎲 1dP to determine Rarity. Upon a Success, you may roll again; upon a Failure do not continue to roll. Always start at Common and attempt upgrades from there.

Determine Item Type

Roll 🎲[10 - 40] 🎲[50 - 80] 🎲[90 - 100]
🎲 1dP Main Hand Off Hand Amulet

Determine Item Rarity

Roll 🎲[10 - 70] 🎲[80 - 100]
🎲 1dP Failure Success

If a Player rolls a Success, add +1 Rarity Level to the 🎁 Item, else remain at current Rarity Level.

Example Immediate Failure

A Failure on the first (1st) roll results in Common Rarity.

Example Immediate Success

A Success on the first (1st) roll results in Uncommon Rarity, roll again

A Success on the second (2nd) roll results in Rare Rarity, roll again

A Failure on the third (3rd) roll remains in Rare Rarity.

The Item's final stats are determined by the Rarity chart below:

Main Hand

Rarity Level Name Roll
1 Common 🎲 1d6
2 Uncommon 🎲 1d6 +1
3 Rare 🎲 2d6
4 Epic 🎲 2d6 +3
5 Legendary 🎲 3d6 +5

Off Hand

Rarity Level Name Roll
1 Common 🎲 1d6
2 Uncommon 🎲 1d6 +1
3 Rare 🎲 2d6
4 Epic 🎲 2d6 +3
5 Legendary 🎲 3d6 +5

Amulet

Rarity Level Name Roll Extra
1 Common 🎲 1d6 +2 -
2 Uncommon 🎲 1d6 +3 -
3 Rare 🎲 2d6 +3 🐎(+1)
4 Epic 🎲 3d6 +3 🐎(+3)
5 Legendary 🎲 4d6 +5 🐎(+5)

Monsters [ 🧟 ]

Back to Top

Upon landing on a Tile with a 🧟 Monster Token, roll a 🎲 1dP to determine the result, based on the table below.

In the rare event that a Tile has multiple 🧟 Monster Tokens present, you must aggregate all rolls into one (cf. "Multiply-Occupied Tiles" for routine with example). In that case, peform actions on the 🧟 Monsters in the follow priority order:

  1. Any DEFECT rolls that resulted
  2. Any BRIBE rolls that resulted
  3. Any HARD-FIGHT/FIGHT rolls that resulted

IMPORTANT 🧟 Monsters and 🤺 Mercenaries are the same, and as such, any BRIBE or DEFECT treats them as identical. The verbiage difference simply reflects where you are likely to encounter them and their general attitude toward you as the Player.

Roll for Interaction

Roll 🎲[10] 🎲[20 - 70] 🎲[80 - 90] 🎲[100]
🎲 1dP HARD-FIGHT FIGHT BRIBE DEFECT

Roll for Monster Quantity

Situation Roll
HARD-FIGHT 🎲 4d6
FIGHT 🎲 2d6
BRIBE 🎲 2d6
DEFECT 🎲 1d6 +3

Cost Implications

Situation Cost /🧟 Monster
BRIBE 3 💰
DEFECT 0 💰 (Free)

HARD-FIGHT/FIGHT

Back to Top

🎲 4d6/🎲 2d6 🧟 Monsters (depending on 🎲 1dP roll above) ENGAGE the 🧙‍ Hero, forcing it to attack. If the 🧙‍ Hero dies as a result, normal Hero Death rules apply. If the Player wins, however, s/he is awarded the integer portion of +💰(Monster Quantity / 2) (i.e. truncate the decimal, do not round).

Example

Roll Result
🎲 4d6 🎲[19]

The Player will fight 🧟(x19) and, if victorious, will receive 19 / 2 = 9.5 => 💰(+9)

BRIBE

Back to Top

Up to 🎲 2d6 🧟 Monsters decide to adventure with the 🧙‍ Hero, at the expense of 💰(-3) per 🧟 Monster to become (up to) 🤺(2d6) for that 🧙‍ Hero. The Player does not have to take all of them.

DEFECT

Back to Top

Up to 🎲 1d6 +3 🧟 Monsters decide to adventure with the 🧙‍ Hero to become 🤺(1d6 +3) for that 🧙‍ Hero, for FREE. The Player does not have to take all of them.


  • 💡 REMINDER Simplified, multiple 🧟 Monsters on a single Tile basically treats the Tile as having a much large band of 🧟 Monsters

Settlement [ 🏰 - 🎲 Building-Dependent ]

Back to Top

Players cannot build additional 🏰 Settlements at any point

It is only possible to control multiple 🏰 Settlements by conquering other Players. If a Player successfully defeats an opponent in a battle for a 🏰 Settlement, the winning Player takes full control of the 🏰 Settlement.

🏰 Settlement is the generic term for each Player's "city". If the 🏰 icon precedes other text (e.g "🏰 Estate" means "🏰 Settlement at tier of Estate"), it is calling out that particular "Settlement Building Tier" for a specific reason--the same logic applies to 🛡️ Ramparts (e.g. 🛡️ Palisade).

A Player can attack a 🏰 Settlement in a similar capacity as fighting 🧟 Monsters or against another 🧙‍ Hero.

In battle, a 🏰 Settlement gets a roll for itself. That roll is dependent on whatever rank the 🏰 Settlement is, plus additional impact if the 🏰 Settlement has any 🛡️ Ramparts. To determine the final roll, add the "Base Roll" columns below.

Tier 🏰 Settlement Cost Reward /Day Base Roll Prerequisite
1 Encampment 5 💰 💰(+1) 🎲 2d6 +6 -
2 Villa 10 💰 💰(+2) 🎲 3d6 +9 🏰 Encampment
3 Estate 15 💰 💰(+4) 🎲 4d6 +12 🏰 Villa
4 Castle 25 💰 💰(+6) 🎲 5d6 +15 🏰 Estate

|Tier|🛡️ Ramparts|Cost|Base Roll|Prerequisite| |-|-|-|-|-|Base Roll |1|Palisade|5 💰|🎲 1d6 +3|🏰 Villa| |2|Fortifications|15 💰|🎲 2d6 +6|🛡️ Palisade, 🏰 Castle|

Example

An 🏰 Estate (🎲 4d6 +12) with 🛡️ Palisade (🎲 1d6 +3) amounts to a total Base Roll of 🎲 5d6 +15


  • 💡 REMINDER You cannot purchase the next tier of 🏰 Settlement until you have purchased its preceding tier
  • 💡 REMINDER Fortifications are impossible without a 🏰 Castle
  • 💡 REMINDER To better understand dice notation and math, consult the "Miscellaneous" section

Garrisoned Heroes

Back to Top

A Garrisoned 🧙‍ Hero cannot be attacked directly, as it is protected by the 🏰 Settlement. If a 🏰 Settlement is attacked while a 🧙‍ Hero is Garrisoned, then the 🧙‍ Hero and its Army will assist in defending the 🏰 Settlement.

NOTE: If A Garrisoned 🧙‍ Hero is at a 🏰 Settlement while it is attacked, there would be a 🧙‍ Hero, a 🏰 Settlement, and the aggregation of the Recruits between the 🏰 Settlement and the 🧙‍ Hero (if it has any) defending the 🏰 Settlement.


  • 💡 REMINDER While a 🧙‍ Hero is Garrisoned, 🤺 Mercenaries and 🎁 Items can be freely exchanged between the 🏰 Settlement and the 🧙‍ Hero

Armory

Back to Top

A 🏰 Settlement's Armory is simply a collection of 🎁 Items that any 🧙‍ Hero currently Garrisoned at that 🏰 Settlement can exchange, deposit, or withdraw 🎁 Items.

🎁 Items in the Armory do not apply to Battle rolls in the event of a 🏰 Settlement assault.


  • 💡 REMINDER The Armory is not a building that you can build, every 🏰 Settlement comes with it

Successful Settlement Assault

Back to Top

If a 🏰 Settlement falls to an assault, all 🎁 Items in the Armory become the property of the conquering party.

IMPORTANT If a 🏰 Settlement has any 🎁 Items in the Armory at the time of a conquest, those items are not "tokenized" like they would be in the death of a 🧙‍ Hero--they remain as the cards they are.

If a 🧙‍ Hero was also defending a 🏰 Settlement in the assault, all 🎁 Items in the Armor and all 💰 Resources at that 🏰 Settlement now become the property of the conquering party.

All 🎁 Items transferred from the assault go into the 🏰 Settlement's Armory by default. While it can be readily transferred to a Garrisoned 🧙‍ Hero, conquered 🎁 Items default to the 🏰 Settlement.

Battle

Back to Top

This section describes how to perform fights and battles between or against 🏰 Settlements, 🧙‍ Heroes, 🤺 Mecenaries, 🧟 Monsters, and ⚒️ Mine 🧟 Guardians, collectively called Units on the battlefield, whenever they arise out of play.

To set up for battle, place your 🤺 Mercenaries in up to 3 different "piles" (Squads). Each 🧙‍ Hero always gets a squad of its own, as does each 🏰 Settlement always. At a maximum, there should never be more than 5 squads on a Player's side, and never more than 2 squads on a battle involving ⚒️ Mine 🧟 Guardians or 🧟 Monsters.

Squads are simply there to give the Player a strategic placement in the battle, but it is perfectly acceptable to have all 🤺 Mercenaries in a single squad.

  • 1 squad for a 🏰 Settlement
  • 1 squad for 🧙‍ Hero
  • 3 squads total for 🧟 Monsters/🤺 Mercenaries
Squad # Squad Unit Use Case
1 🧟/🤺 Always for 🧟/🤺
2 🧟/🤺 Always for 🧟, Optionally for 🤺
3 🤺 Optionally for 🤺
4 🧙‍ Only if side has a 🧙‍ Hero
5 🏰 Only if side has a 🏰 Settlement

Battle proceeds by taking 1 or more squads and coordinating an attack on another squad. During an attack, all squads involved roll their respective dice to determine the power.

If the total power of the attacking squad(s) is greater than the total power of the defending squad, then the entire defending squad dies. By contrast, an entire attacking squad is killed if the defending squad rolls a higher total. In the event of a tie, favor goes to the defender and the attacker loses that round.

In all cases where an attacking squad loses, the attacking Player choose which squad to kill; if only 1 squad attacked, the choice is automatic.

Squads

Back to Top

During a battle, 🧟 Monsters/Guardians will always split evenly into 2 squads; if the quantity is odd, put the extra 1 in either squad.

A Player, however, is entitles to splitting the 🤺 Mercenaries into up to 3 different squads, allocating the quantities as s/he wishes, until all 🤺 Mercenaries have been accounted for.

Heroes

Back to Top

A 🧙‍ Hero will always occupy a squad of its own, by itself. As a 🧙‍ Hero, its "base roll" is 🎲 2d6 +6.

If that 🧙‍ Hero has any 🎁 Items on it, the 🧙‍ Hero can bring 1x Main Hand, 1x Off Hand, and 1x Amulet with it into battle. Whatever the stats are on those 🎁 Items are added to the "base roll" of that 🧙‍ Hero any time the 🧙‍ Hero is engaged in battle (i.e. attacking or defending).

Example

If a 🧙‍ Hero has equipped an Epic Main Hand and a Common Amulet, then:

Roll Reason
🎲 2d6 +6 🧙‍ Hero
🎲 2d6 +3 Main Hand [Epic Rarity]
🎲 1d6 +2 Amulet [Common Rarity]
=
🎲 5d6 +11 Total Base Roll

Settlements

Back to Top

A 🏰 Settlement will always occupy a squad of its own, by itself. As a 🏰 Settlement, its "base roll" is dependent on its tier.

Tier 🏰 Settlement Base Roll
1 Encampment 🎲 2d6 +6
2 Villa 🎲 3d6 +9
3 Estate 🎲 4d6 +12
4 Castle 🎲 5d6 +15
Tier 🛡️ Ramparts Base Roll
1 Palisade 🎲 1d6 +3
2 Fortifications 🎲 2d6 +6

Example

If a 🏰 Settlement is, for example, a 🏰 Castle with 🛡️ Fortifications, then "base roll" for the 🏰 Settlement is:

Roll Reason
🎲 5d6 +15 🏰 Castle
🎲 2d6 +6 🛡️ Fortifications
=
🎲 7d6 +21 Total Base Roll

Multiply-Occupied Tiles

Back to Top

Any Token interaction will cost a minimum of 🐎(-1). This applies to consecutive Token acquisitions on the same Tile.

IMPORTANT 🎁 Items and 💰 Resources uniquely take 🐎(-1) for each Token on a Tile, while all other Token are "automatically" interacted with simply by being on the same Tile

If a Tile is occupied by more than 1 Token, then the following priority order must be followed before a 🧙‍ Hero can [ INTERACT, ENGAGE ] with lower-priority Tokens:

Priority Token(s) Notes
1 🧟 Monster -
2 🧙‍ Hero* See 💡 REMINDER below
3 🏰 Settlement -
4 🎁 Item 💰 Resource Player's choice
5 ⚒️ Mine -

In the rare event that a Tile has multiple 🧟 Monster Tokens present, you must aggregate all rolls into one. In that case, peform actions on the 🧟 Monsters in the follow priority order:

  1. Any DEFECT rolls that resulted
  2. Any BRIBE rolls that resulted
  3. Any HARD-FIGHT/FIGHT rolls that resulted

  • 💡 REMINDER 🧙‍ Heroes Garrisoned in a 🏰 Settlement are considered a 🏰 Settlement by priority standards, and become another unit on the Settlement's Battlefield

Example Section

Back to Top

Below are some various examples to help explicate the idea.

Example A) Multiple 🎁 Items and 💰 Resources Tokens on a Single Tile

0,0 1 2 3
1 - - -
2 - 🎁🎁💰 🧙‍
3 - - -

The 🧙‍ Hero must:

  • Expend 🐎(-1) to move from 🗺️[3, 2] to 🗺️[2, 2]
  • Expend 🐎(-1) to claim the first 🎁 Item
  • Expend 🐎(-1) to claim the second 🎁 Item
  • Expend 🐎(-1) to claim the 💰 Resource

This results in a total of 🐎(-4) for the 🧙‍ Hero

Example B) 🧟 Monster and (⚒️ Mine️ or 🏰 Settlement) Tokens on a Single Tile

If a 🧟 Monster and a ⚒️ Mine️ occupy the same Tile, then the Player must first (1st) engage and defeat the 🧟 Monster before the Player can interact with the ⚒️ Mine. The same situation would be true if the ⚒️ Mine were instead a 🏰 Settlement.

Example C) Multiple 🧟 Monster Tokens on a Single Tile

The 🧙‍ Hero is about to engage 5 aggregated 🧟 Monster battles--this is an exceedingly unlikely board event to show the general idea

0,0 1 2 3
1 - - -
2 - 🧟🧟🧟🧟🧟🧙‍ -
3 - - -
Label Roll Result Reason Implication
Roll #1 🎲 1dP 🎲[10] 🧟 Monster Token #1 => HARD-FIGHT
Roll #2 🎲 1dP 🎲[50] 🧟 Monster Token #2 => FIGHT
Roll #3 🎲 1dP 🎲[80] 🧟 Monster Token #3 => BRIBE
Roll #4 🎲 1dP 🎲[40] 🧟 Monster Token #4 => FIGHT
Roll #5 🎲 1dP 🎲[100] 🧟 Monster Token #5 => DEFECT

According to the priority chart above

  • First, determine how many 🧟 Monsters will DEFECT based on "Roll #5"
    Label Roll Result Implication
    Roll #5 DEFECT 🎲 1d6 +3 🎲[3] +3 = 6 => 🧟(+6) DEFECT to become 🤺(+6)
  • Second, determine how many 🧟 Monsters you can BRIBE based on "Roll #3"
    Label Roll Result Implication
    Roll #3 BRIBE 🎲 2d6 🎲[4] = 4 => Up to 🧟(+4) can be BRIBED at a cost of 💰(-3) each
  • Finally, determine how many 🧟 Monsters will FIGHT based on "Roll #1", "Roll #2", and "Roll #4"
    Label Roll Result Implication
    Roll #1 HARD-FIGHT 🎲 4d6 🎲[20] = 20 => FIGHT 🧟(20)
    Roll #2 FIGHT 🎲 2d6 🎲[9] = 9 => FIGHT 🧟(9)
    Roll #4 FIGHT 🎲 2d6 🎲[11] = 11 => FIGHT 🧟(11)
    Total 🎲[20] + 🎲[9] + 🎲[11] = 🧟(40) => FIGHT 🧟(40)

Miscellaneous

Back to Top

Below are some random things and situations for which Players may need additional reference and explanation.

Dice

Back to Top

As a notational explicative for this section and the guide in general:

  • 🎲[#] will mean a roll result
  • 🎲[#] +# will mean a roll result that must have a B "Bonus" added to get the total after all dice have been rolled
  • 🎲[#] + ... + 🎲[#] will mean a roll result sequence that resulted from multiple rolls
  • 🎲 NdS +B will mean a dice roll to perform
  • 🎲 NdS +B + ... + 🎲 NdS +B will mean a dice roll sequence to perform
  • (# * 🎲 NdS) +B + ... + (# * 🎲 NdS) +B will mean a dice roll sequence to perform of Representative Rolls
  • (# * 🎲 NdS) +B will mean a dice roll to perform, the result of which will be multiplied by # and +B will be added to the final result. This is called a Representative Roll

Bonus

Back to Top

Bonus is always added at the very end of all rolls. An example roll of 🎲 2d6 +9 means:


✔️ CORRECT ✔️

This is a correct method of calculation (i.e. Individual Rolls)

  • 🎲 2d6 +9 is consistent with (🎲 1d6 + 🎲 1d6 + +9)

✔️ CORRECT ✔️

This is a correct method of calculation (i.e. Representative Rolls) If you remember PEMDAS from math, read # * 🎲 NdS +B and (# * 🎲 NdS) +B both as (# * 🎲 NdS) +B

To be representative, you would only roll 1 🎲 d6 and multiply that result by N (in the case below, N is 2).

  • 🎲 2d6 +9 is consistent with ((2 * 🎲 1d6) + +9)

❌ WRONG ❌

This is a wrong method of calculation and is not mathematically consistent

  • 🎲 2d6 +9 is not consistent with (🎲 1d6 +9 + 🎲 1d6 +9)

Number-Sided-Bonus (🎲 NdS +B)

Back to Top

When writing dice rolls, the "Number-Sided-Bonus" convention is used, taking the general form of 🎲 NdS +B.

  • N is the "Number"
    • The quantity of dice
  • S is the "Sidedness"
    • The type of dice
  • B is the "Bonus"
    • After rolling all of the dice, add the bonus

Example

A 🎲 3d6 +9 means that we will

  • Firstly, Roll a 6-sided dice 3 times
    • e.g. 🎲 3d6 +9 => 🎲[4] + 🎲[2] + 🎲[6] = 🎲[12]
  • Lastly, Sum the total and then add +9 to it
    • e.g. 🎲[12] + +9 = 21
Dice Sides Notes
🎲 d4 4 Increments of 1 from 🎲[1 - 4]
🎲 d6 6 Increments of 1 from 🎲[1 - 6]
🎲 d10 10 Increments of 1 from 🎲[1 - 10]
🎲 d12 12 Increments of 1 from 🎲[1 - 12]
🎲 dP 10 Increments of 10 from 🎲[10 - 00], 🎲[00] = 100%.

Dice Arithmetic

Back to Top

PSA

Unless you understand this deeply, we recommend that you do not attempt to condense dice if they differ in their "Sidedness" (e.g. 🎲 1d4 +9 + 🎲 3d12 +4 + 🎲 2d6 + 🎲 1d6 + ..., etc.), but instead simply roll each dice in sequence and keep track of the running total.

In cases like the above, we recommend that you simply roll each in sequence and write down a running total and only perform condensing on 🎲 d6 dice roll sequences. Because of this simplification, we intentionally attempted to keep the majority of dice rolls in the paradigm of 🎲 d6 for actions, and 🎲 dP for chances.

That being said, if you have multiple of the same Sidedness on the combined dice roll, you can condense them into a single expression in a fairly straightforward manner.

  • Firstly, simply add all the "Numbers" together as the final N
  • Next, add all of the B "Bonuses" together into a final +B
  • Lastly, consolidate into a single form: NdS +B, where S is whatever the "Sidedness" of the original dice were.

ASSUME: You have 2d6 +6, 1d6 +3, 1d6, 1d6. In this case, since we are only using 🎲 d6 dice, we can consolidate.

Roll Running Total of N Running Total of +B
🎲 2d6 +6 - {2} = 2 {6} = 6
🎲 1d6 +3 - 2 + {1} = 3 6 + {3} = 9
🎲 1d6 - 2 + 1 + {1} = 4 6 + 3 = 9
🎲 1d6 - 2 + 1 + 1 + {1} = 5 6 + 3 = 9

Take

  • the final N of = 5
  • the final B of = 9
  • and the S of 🎲 d6 from the example's initial setup

into a consolidated form of: 🎲 5d6 +9.

Voting

Back to Top

Do not read this section too rigidly, it is meant as a high-level guidance, but the ultimate decision is up to you.

If a situation arises where a Vote is necessary, then each Player can "cast" 1 Vote. In the event of a tie (e.g. an even number of Players), choose a reconciliation method that has fair and even odds (e.g. flip a coin, roll a 1dP and split 10 - 50 and 60 - 100, etc.), or create a fun and/or competitive event to decide.

TIP: In the event of a tie, consider introducing light-hearted fun at the other Players' expense, such as pitting each side of the Vote against each other by some means (e.g. a mini event, a trivia contest, etc.).

Fractional Remains

Back to Top

Intuitively, imagine all fractional roles as if they were dividing people and you must keep them alive--you can't have half a person (at least, not a person that is still alive...).

Any time an event happens where there are fractional remains, you must always remove (truncate) the decimal portion. This remains true even if the fraction would round up (e.g. 0.6).

Alliance

Back to Top

An Alliance can be made with any Player at any time, and if an Alliance forms, then each Player continues to operate independently; however, each Player in the Alliance can treat the other Alliance Members' 🏰 Settlements and Mines and unoccupied Tiles for movement.

Any other perks or restrictions are determined by the Alliance Members themselves.

Alliance business is a good situation to introduce Voting, if the number of Players warrants it.